Who are Jack Blanchard and Misty Morgan?

Just who are Jack and Misty?  Do these names mean anything to you? Are you a fan, or have you never heard of them? Whether you know anything about them or not, you will be fascinated by their story — a story of their life as hard-working musicians, knowing hardship and sometimes danger; their rise to fame and fortune during their heyday, right through to their come-back in the digital age, long after many people thought that they had disappeared from the scene for ever.

Jack and Misty, who live in Florida, are award winning country music stars who have worked alongside most of the well-known stars of their generation. Both were born and brought up in Buffalo, NY, and have lived in Florida since the late fifties. After working for many years in clubs and bars around Orlando and Miami, they recorded and released their song, ‘Tennessee Birdwalk’, which became huge hit, unexpectedly shooting them to fame in 1970. For this song they won a Grammy nomination and the prestigious Billboard Magazine Award for Duet of the Year. They were up against stiff competition for the Grammy, which was won that year by Johnny Cash and June Carter.

They are known for their unique and distinctive harmonies, with Misty’s beautiful alto voice harmonizing perfectly with Jack’s deep gravelly voice, which has been described as a ‘velvet saw’. They are both fine keyboard players and Jack also plays various guitars, including lap steel. They have seen and experienced the highs and lows of the music industry and have had many exciting adventures along the way.

Their song, ‘Tennessee Birdwalk’, was the catalyst that brought Jack and Misty and myself together after I heard it on internet radio and, since we first met in 2007, a close friendship has formed between us.

The book is available now from the publishers and from Amazon http://authl.it/

It is available in both as a paperback and as an e-book.

About moraghsblog

I started writing seriously after I was widowed in 2004, though I'd had the occasional article or letter published in various newsletters or magazines before then. I first started entering poetry contests in December 2010 and I have had several poems published in various anthologies. I have almost completed a comprehensive creative writing course, but the last two modules have been put on hold for now, due to lack of time and a spell of ill-health. This course is designed to teach their students how to write to a standard that will enable them to sell their work to magazine editors. My first paid article was in the Guardian weekend family supplement in December 2011, and I have had several articles successfully published in a variety of magazines since then. During 2012, I took time out from my course to complete the biography of country music stars, Jack Blanchard and Misty Morgan from Florida. I met Jack and Misty in 2007, two years after I started corresponding with them via e-mail. My book 'In Harmony' was published in December that year. Apart from my writing, I enjoy going to country music gigs and festivals. I also love travelling, especially to the USA, where I have made a huge number of friends. I also have some family members who live there. I have recently started a new blog, telling of my travels and adventures in the USA.
This entry was posted in Biography, Book, Country Music History. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who are Jack Blanchard and Misty Morgan?

  1. loycie dinsmore says:

    I adore jack & misty. We’re only facebook friends, but I feel as if I’ve known them forever, cuz that’s the kind of people they are. Wouldn’t trade em for anything in the world. They’re truly awe-inspiring. 🙂

    • moraghsblog says:

      Good to meet you Loycie. Thank you for your comments. Jack & Misty are a lovely couple and have become dear friends of mine. I will add you to my e-mail list for the biography updates … if that’s OK with you. Moragh

Leave a Reply

